Shearing Sports Logo Shearing Sports New Zealand IncEldersPrimary Wool Cooperative Ltd
FULL MENU MastersJudgesWorld ChampsTeamsCompetition DatesRulesMedia ReleasesContact

December 31, 2015

Sir David Fagan, one of shearing's most honoured dozen
Shearing Sports New Zealand chairman Sir David Fagan is one of people understood to have been recognised in New Zealand's New Year or Queen's Birthday Honours for services including involvement in the shearing industrry and its sports.
The first is thought to have been Godfrey Bowen (OBE 1960), who with brother Ivan Bowen developed the famed Bowen shearing technique.
Godfrey Bowen was third in the inaugural Golden Shears Open final in 1961, won by Ivan Bowen who was awarded the MNZM in 2007 for services which included development of award-winning Rotorua tourism attraction the Agrodome.
Ivan Bowen is one of seven Golden Shears champions to be recognised in the honours over the years, the others being fellow Open champions Brian 'Snow' Quinn (MBE 1981), John Fagan (MBE 1992), Sir David Fagan (MNZM 1999, ONZM 2007, KNZM 2017), and Colin King (MNZM 2000), Open woolhandling champion Mavis Mullins (MNZM 2002), and 1965 Intermediate shearing champion Hugh McCarroll (MNZM 2013).
Mrs Mullins is one of three Golden Shears presidents to have been recognised, the others being Bob Chamberlain (MBE 1965) and Laurie Keats (MNZM 2009), and other recipients have been former long-serving Golden Shears secretary Colin Gilmour-Wilson (QSO 1995), and shearing instructor Allan Reid (QSM 2010)


About Shearing Sports

Shearing Sports is a non-profit organization, incorporated in 1994 (previously known as the National Shearing and Woolhandling Committee).

Shearing Sports NZ is the governing body for over 60 shearing and Woolhandling competitions throughout the country.

National committee

We have a national committee which consists of 8 delegates representing the competitions on a regional basis, one shearing and one woolhandling representative from each island representing the competitors and a Tectra delegate from each island representing the industry (e.g farmers). The national delegates at the National Annual General meeting elect a Chairperson and Secretary/Treasurer.
They currently are -

Chairman - David Fagan, PO Box 91, Te Kuiti - Email:
Secretary/Treasurer - Lara Russell, 57 Lane Street, Ashburton 7700- Email:

Shearing Sports Undertaking

Setting quality standards for shearing & woolhandling.

Shearing Sports NZ Objectives

  • To co-ordinate, encourage and assist the activities of members having as part of their objects the holding of competitions within New Zealand or internationally.
  • To approve individual competitors or the composition of teams which represent New Zealand in international competition
  • To initiate, promote and distribute the holding of competitions by member societies and to organize and coordinate the dates and places of such competitions.
  • To promote the art and skill of shearing and woolhandling
  • To promote and encourage an interest in Wool
  • To compile uniform standard rules for competitions and judging.
  • To compile a national register of competitors, judges, fix national standards, grade competitors and amend standards
  • To assist with arrangements for overseas competitors to visit New Zealand for the promotion of wool or competition



Robin was head of WOOLPRO when he retired in 1999 after being field superintendent and in charge of shearer training since 1983 succeeding the legendary Godfrey Bowen. Prior to that he had been a permanent shearing instructor with the N Z Wool Board since 1966.

Robin was secretary of the first National Shearing Committee meeting, July 26th 1973 and served continuously on that committee (now Shearing Sports N Z Inc) for 27 years.

Robin and wife Ellie are now living in Taupo, he still takes a great interest in all things shearing!



© Shearing Sports NZ 2008
Website by Dzina Ltd